ISL 2020-21: Margao’s Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium set to host final on 13 March


Margao: The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium at Fatorda will host the Indian Super League final on 13 March for a record third time, the organisers announced on Wednesday.

The first-leg semifinals will be held at two venues – GMC Stadium at Bambolim and JL Nehru Stadium here – on 5 and 6 March. The return legs are scheduled for 8 and 9 March at the same venues.

“The ‘Away Goal’ rule will not apply in semifinals this season. Teams with highest goal aggregate in their respective two-legged ties will progress to the final,” Football Sports Development Limited said in a release.

The league phase ends on 28 February. The last game is scheduled between current league leaders ATK Mohun Bagan (36 points) and second-placed Mumbai City FC (34 points). Both teams have already qualified for the playoffs.

The team finishing on top of the table after the league phase will be crowned League Shield Winners, earning a direct group-stage entry into the prestigious AFC Champions League next season.

“The season saw Hero ISL expand to 11 teams. The number of matches going up from 95 last season to an unprecedented 115,” the FSDL said.

“This has been one of the most closely fought seasons ever with thrilling last-minute finishes in numerous games. Eight teams still remain in contention for a top-four finish, heading into the final three rounds of the League stage.”

Times2 Desk
Latest News Headlines: Times2 covers Latest India News, Top Today's Breaking News on Business, India, World, Politics, Entertainment and Sports …